NFAS Shooting Styles


The NFAS exists to foster and promote Field Archery as a sport. All courses are over unmarked (ie unknown) distances, usually situated in woodland, and targets are predominately 3D or paper animal faces.

You can read more about the definitions of each NFAS shooting style and see the current NFAS shooting rules on the NFAS site here. What follows is a summary:

There are nine NFAS shooting styles within the society which are shot at our club (we don't shoot Crossbow):

American Flatbow
Hunting Tackle
Compound Limited

Each style is split into the following classes: Gents, Ladies, Junior Boys U16, Junior Girls U16, Cub Boys over 9 and Cub Girls over 9, and Cub Boys Under 9 and Cub Girls Under 9.

On a standard round, known as a Big Game round, an archer will shoot until he/she scores, up to a maximum of three arrows.

Arrows are shot from the following pegs:

Adults: Red White Blue
Juniors Under 16: White Blue Blue
Juniors Under 14: Blue Yellow Yellow
Cubs Over 9 : Yellow Yellow Yellow
Cubs Under 9: Orange Orange Orange

Company of Sixty applies the NFAS shooting rules (here) at its Open and Friendly shoots.

It has a few particular rules of its own too - read our Etiquette Guide here.